Auto Insurance

Ready to save on your Auto or RV policy?

Have questions on your Auto Insurance? We've got answers.

Missouri requires all motorists in the state to carry vehicle liability insurance and uninsured motorist coverage. Liability protects you against claims made by other drivers. If you cause damage to someone else’s vehicle, or injury to others, liability insurance covers you. Uninsured motorist coverage covers you if you have an accident with someone who does not have the legally required liability insurance. Uninsured motorist coverage pays for damage to your car and medical expenses related to any injuries you suffer.

In addition to mandating this insurance, Missouri requires minimum coverage limits:

  • Minimum liability:
    • $25,000 per accident for injury to one person
    • $50,000 per accident for injury to two or more persons
    • $10,000 per accident for damage to another’s vehicle
  • Minimum uninsured motorist:
    • $25,000 per accident for injury to one person
    • $50,000 per accident for injury to two or more persons

Even though Missouri law does not require you to carry car insurance above and beyond these minimums, most financial experts agree that higher limits and collision and “other than collision” coverages are also a fundamental part of every car insurance policy.

If you cause an accident and your vehicle is damaged, you are covered by your collision insurance. If your vehicle is damaged by an incident other than collision, you are covered by your comprehensive insurance. Typically, these include falling objects, theft, fire or accidents involving animals.

Is Auto Insurance Tax Deductible?

If you are self-employed and use your personal vehicle for business, you can take a tax deduction for your car insurance. For example, an independent sales professional who travels for work can take the deduction.

However, only the actual mileage used for business travel is deductible. In other words, if you drive a vehicle 15,000 miles for business and 15,000 for personal use (a total of 30,000 miles annually) your deduction will cover half of your overall use.

Do Auto Insurance Companies Share Information?

When you make an insurance claim or begin the process to switch insurance companies, information about your claims history is placed into a national loss-underwriting database. That information can be accessed by all insurance companies that are considering insuring you.

However, insurance companies do not share your personal information directly with each other. The information included on the claims database is not shared, per se, but it is available for all companies to find.

Keep in mind that since your driving record is on file with your state’s motor vehicle department, your information is public record – including tickets and accidents.

Can My Auto Claim be Denied?

There are a few reasons that your claim can be denied, including:

  • Filing a fraudulent claim exaggerating or fabricating an accident or loss.
  • Filing a claim under coverage you don’t have.
  • Filing a claim for a loss that is not included in your policy – for example, if you suffer an accident while using your car as a business vehicle.
  • Making improvements to your vehicle, such as giving it a fancy paint job, without notifying your company. The company might deny the claim or compensate you based on the original value of the vehicle.
  • If you miss a premium payment, you may have your coverage suspended until you catch up your payments; if you file a claim while your insurance is suspended it will be denied.

Some states allow companies to deny claims for other reasons, so it is a good idea to understand the fine print in your policy.

Property Type
Elementary Schools
Middle Schools
High Schools

Compare listings